MSU Faculty Emeriti Association Steering Committee Meeting Wednesday, May 20, 2009 2:30-4:30 p.m. 209 Olds Hall

- 1. The 2009 Annual meeting of the MSU Emeriti Faculty Association was called to order at 2:45 in the Cornice Room of the Kellogg Center by the Steering Committee's Chairperson, John Forsyth., Seventeen persons were in attendance, including the following Steering Committee members: Nelson, Stone, Forsyth, Adams, Rivera, Bader, Funk, Rovner, Ishino, R. Hudson, Birdwell, Wichert, Gliozzo, M. Ferris and Shaw. (Others in attendance were: J Ferris and G Hudson.)
- 2. The minutes of the previous Steering Committee were approved as distributed previously.
- 3. Ferris reported that several oral history interviews have been completed with several others scheduled for later in May. Shaw indicated that he had received a request from the University of South Carolina for information concerning the MSU Oral History Project. It was agreed that Ferris would respond to the information request.
- 4. Stone presented two names of Emeriti to serve three years terms on the Steering Committee: James Stapleton, Department of Statistics and Probability and Grover Hudson, Department of Linguistics and Languages. Both were unanimously elected.
- 5. Stone share information concerning his representation on the University's two health care task forces, and he indicated that considerable progress was made during the year to insure that the new by-laws of the Faculty and Academic Councils specifically included and Emeriti Faculty member as a voice but not voting member of both groups.
- 6. Forsyth expressed appreciation for Fischer's work in organizing the successful seminar series; the group also acknowledged the on-going important contributions of Allyn Shaw who has facilitated the work of the Steering Committee and was especially helpful in making arrangements for the awards to the awards presented to the two Emeriti (James Dye and John Ferris) at the Retirees' Luncheon.
- 7. The following Steering Committee officers were elected unanimously for next year in accordance with the organizational by-laws: Chairperson, John Forsyth; Vice Chairperson, Charles Gliozzo; Secretary/Treasurer, Linda Nelson.
- 8. Alternative meeting sites for future meetings were discussed. Gliozzo offered to explore the possible use of a meeting room in the International Building where space and parking might be a good alternative. There will be no meeting in July, but regular Steering Committee meetings will be held the third Wednesday of June and August.
- 9. Light refreshments were enjoyed by group prior to the adjournment at 3 p.m.

Maxine Ferris, Secretary